Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Camera will not record or take picture

Discussion stats
  • 8 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 4 In Conversation
Heatseeker519
Aspirant
Aspirant
I have the ultra set up and front camera works like a charm other then giving notifications out of zone but not a big deal, second camera I had to sync manually and it won’t take a still shot or record to the cloud and yes I have a smart subscription. Why does my app show the second camera and synced to the hub but won’t record??
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Heatseeker519
Aspirant
Aspirant
I moved the camera to over my door and that pretty much stopped it, I do get the occasional at night like you mentioned from car lights and in the early morning with the sunrise but neither of those are a big deal. Thanks for the advice and I guess I should have updated my post. Learned real quick though that placement is everything.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

What mode is in use? Does it have a rule for the camera? Have you tried creating a new custom mode to see if that works properly?

Heatseeker519
Aspirant
Aspirant
It is in factory mode, to detect motion and record. Can’t find anything for a rule. The only modes I found are armed, disarm, geofencing and schedule. It does record at times but it seems to pick and choose. Ordered a new mount so was thinking of removing then re syncing to the hub when I move it.
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

Read the FAQs here on various topics, including how to modify and create modes and rules. The rules are inside the modes. Since you're using the Armed mode, try increasing the motion sensitivity setting for the camera in the mode - be sure to save. It may also be the distance, speed and direction of the motion that is at issue. Remember that people detection is only out to ~25 feet with sensitivity turned all the way up.