Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras

Reply
Discussion stats
  • 4 Replies
  • 499 Views
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
ksss11
Luminary
Luminary

We started to set up our Ultra2 base and cameras. We have an account with our Pro/Pro2 system on it, which we were told on the forum not to delete until the new system is up and running. We plugged in the new smarthub and went through the add the device routine which said it could not discover it. We logged off and when we logged back in and went to devices, the new 5ooo renamed base was there. Does this mean we are ready to add cameras?  Will the new Ultra2 cams sync to the new base only?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@ksss11 wrote:

We do not have to remove the old base first do we? 


No, you can keep it in the account (and continue to use the old cameras as long as you like).

 


@ksss11 wrote:

 

Also, we put batteries into new cameras to charge them and later noticed they  showed up on wifi availability list (assuming that it was them VMB... . and VMB.....1) with a secure symbol next to the numbers.  


You weren't seeing the cameras.  You were seeing the closed wifi networks that the two bases create for the cameras.  You would have seen just one before (from your old base).  You can't join those networks from your phone or PC, they are only for the cameras.

 

So not a problem, this is normal.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@ksss11 wrote:

 We logged off and when we logged back in and went to devices, the new 5ooo renamed base was there. Does this mean we are ready to add cameras?  Will the new Ultra2 cams sync to the new base only?


If the VMB5000 base is in the account and on-line, then you can add the Ultra cameras to it.

 

The Ultras can be connected to VMB4xxx bases also, but not the VMB3xxx bases.  But I think adding the cameras to the VMB5000 makes the most sense.  Use "add device" in the app or my.arlo.com.

ksss11
Luminary
Luminary

We do not have to remove the old base first do we?  We just need to have full use of the Pro/Pro2 cameras while we are setting up the new Ultra2 system before we remove the old equipment. We need make sure we have no spotlight being used and to toggle the sensitivity on settings.

Also, we put batteries into new cameras to charge them and later noticed they  showed up on wifi availability list (assuming that it was them VMB... . and VMB.....1) with a secure symbol next to the numbers.  We also had the new base station powered and ethernet connected for maybe 10 mins. before we unplugged it and tried to add it to devices. Will that cause any problems?

StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@ksss11 wrote:

We do not have to remove the old base first do we? 


No, you can keep it in the account (and continue to use the old cameras as long as you like).

 


@ksss11 wrote:

 

Also, we put batteries into new cameras to charge them and later noticed they  showed up on wifi availability list (assuming that it was them VMB... . and VMB.....1) with a secure symbol next to the numbers.  


You weren't seeing the cameras.  You were seeing the closed wifi networks that the two bases create for the cameras.  You would have seen just one before (from your old base).  You can't join those networks from your phone or PC, they are only for the cameras.

 

So not a problem, this is normal.

ksss11
Luminary
Luminary

Thanks so much

Discussion stats
  • 4 Replies
  • 500 Views
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation