Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

I have a Arlo Smart subscription, added new Doorbell, do I have to go with Arlo Secure Subscription

Discussion stats
  • 3 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
ArloWatcher
Luminary
Luminary

So I had an Arlo Smart Subscription that I used with my 5 Arlo Pro 2 cameras, 1 Ultra camera, and 1 wired Arlo Doorbell. I paid $5.98/month for the Doorbell and the Ultra on the Smart Plan and the 5 Pro 2 cameras were free. Life was good (well kind of good. I got used to the $6/month fee).

Until a couple of day ago when the wired Arlo Doorbell stopped working. I did all the troubleshooting but could not bring it back to life. So off to Best Buy to get a new one. I removed the old Arlo Wireless Doorbell and hooked up the new one, and I now had the white lights. I followed the directions in the app and within a minute or 2, I had a working doorbell again. 

But now I have the Arlo Smart vs Arlo Secure problem. Arlo Smart still works for my 5 Pro 2 cameras and 1 Ultra camera. Still getting charged for 2 cameras on the Smart Plan (even though I only have the one Ultra Camera enrolled). It also shows my 3 month trail of Arlo Secure that came with the new doorbell in the app. Everything seems to be working. I can see all the cameras in the app, and it is recording videos that I can play back for all 7 cameras. Arlo says you can't have Smart and Secure at the same time, but it looks to be working.

• Am I missing something that Smart and Secure seem to be working together?
  • What's going to happen at the end of my 3 month Secure trail?
  • Will I be able to add my new doorbell to my old smart plan then?
  • Or will I need to move everything over to a Secure Plan?
  • I think my price then will go from $6 to $10 a month.
  • All this because my working Arlo Wired Doorbell died and I had to go buy a new Arlo Wired Doorbell $130.