Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Previously working cameras now offline

Discussion stats
  • 2 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
AncientGeek
Hero
Hero

This is a shot in the dark, but I thought I’d ask anyway.  

I have around 41 Arlo cameras deployed at five locations.  I’ve been using Arlo cameras since 2015 and have evolved my deployed base of cameras over the years.  I have a fair amount of experience with Arlo and computer networks in general.

On April 1st one of my cameras went offline.  That one is 1800 miles away, so I won’t get to it anytime soon.  It has been running for two years and is powered via a solar panel.  

A couple of weeks prior to this, I swapped batteries in another Pro 3 and that camera did not come back online.  I didn’t notice until I was 100 miles away.  I was back there yesterday and decided to debug it.  Swapping batteries did nothing.  I removed the camera and brought it into my garage.  After some effort, it seemed to connect and operate… until I put it back in the original location.  Then it went offline again.   I then set up a new Pro 4 and put that in the same location …that, too went offline soon after I placed it in the housing.  I went back in the house and both the Pro 3 and Pro 4 work there.   I left the Pro 3 on the kitchen counter and it appears to still be working. The Pro 4 is in the original position on a tree facing the house and  is still offline.

Both of these “offline” camera locations experience low signal, but they have both worked fine for a couple of years.