Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 4 Replies
  • 3 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
flydodo
Tutor
Tutor

New buyer here and I'm afraid I might have to return this nice gear.  I think I made an error in buying my Arlo Pro 2 even after what I thought was careful research.  I understood that the cameras connect via WIFI but they ONLY connect via wifi to the base station and NOT my own wifi network. My home is pretty big and well covered by wifi with extenders and I don't mind the base station on the ethernet port but it seems it's also broadcasting a redundant wifi network I can't use due to distance and construction. The Arlo base station wifi has a much more limited wifi range.   

Is there no way to configure the cameras to connect to my own more robust wifi network?  

4 REPLIES 4
VancouverBC
Luminary
Luminary

I'm new to Arlo too. My understanding is Arlo uses a lower powered wifi to minimize battery consumption. If your house is big, you may need two base stations, the advantage is you'll get at least a couple more cameras too to add more coverage. Cost wise there aren't many better alternatives. A hard wired systems is expensive to wire (unlessy your house is under construction?) and decent resolution cameras that connect to your wifi network are not inexpensive so may as well go with Arlo. The less expensive network cameras have low resolution and lose the connection to the wifi frequently. 

flydodo
Tutor
Tutor

Thanks for the quick reply.  This system was too expensive to buy 2 of them to cover my home.  I'm definitely returning it. 

brh
Master
Master