Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras

Camera Stops Charging due to the connector cable from the Micro USB to the main board of the camera.

Discussion stats
  • 1 Reply
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
MobiMend
Follower
Follower

I am a small IT business owner based in South Australia, I have been a Netgear reseller for many years now (Mainly computing & networking products) & have not had a problem with any of them. I believe Netgear to be a good & reliable product manufacturer.

I installed an Arlo Surveillance kit in my own home about 6 to 7 months ago. It has been running great till about 4 weeks ago, initially 1 of the 3 camera's stopped charging, so I swapped it out with another and used a different one to charge 2 batteries, about a week later that camera also stopped charging, so I took the 3rd camera down and used it purely for charging the other 2 batteries, that lasted for about 10 day's and that one also stopped charging, I initially thought it might be the actual USB charger and tried it on my phone, but it worked & charged the phone fine.

I then had a look inside the Arlo-Q camera and noticed that the 1mm ribbon cable had cracked, I looked inside the other two and the same thing had occurred.

I took it back to the retailer from who I purchased it from, I got a call today asking me to come into the store. When I got there a male employee from service desk told me that the charging issue isn't covered by warranty & that it would cost me $85.00 per camera to be fixed. I thought this was a bit pricy and said I will just take them back home.

I went online and found another shop that sold ARLO products and purchased the "Dual Battery charging station" for $99.00 as this was a cheaper alternative to resolve my problem. So now I can charge 2 batteries at once which is ideal to have a spare charged battery always. I later put the batteries back in the cameras & they are all working now.