Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Solar panel power for cameras

It would be great to be able to attach solar panels to the cameras for more perment installs to charge the batterys.
Comments
ChristineT
Arlo Employee Retired
Status changed to: New Ideas

JamesC
Community Manager
Status changed to: Implemented

JamesC
Community Manager
Status changed to: Archived - Not Enough Votes

Rob_wts
Follower

You guys should make a solar solution for the original Arlo smart system. Just include a new battery cap cover with a garment, that has battery leads to connect into to the solar panel. Fast and easy...

alwaysfixing
Onlooker

Well, folks, I'm new to the Arlo system but I and many others here have considerable interest in alternative solutions to powering these cameras.  Yes, it's nice that they have rechargeable batteries and, depending upon the activity and trip settings, the batteries may last between a few days to as long as a few weeks between charges.  But if you are mounting the camera so that it's safely out of reach of vandals or thieves, you probably are going to find it inconvenient to keep changing the battery out for a freshly charged one.  So there are two attractive solutions:

a) Solar power 

b) Continuous Power using an AC source

Now, before I get into the details of each of these options, I think it's very important to realize that the power needed to operate the camera depends upon whether or not the battery is installed!  You do NOT need the battery installed to operate the camera.  If you take the battery out, you will find that a standard 5V USB charger (like the one I use to charge my iphones) will operate the camera just fine.  So this is actually the simplest answer to item B above.