Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Question about Item No. VMA3600-10000S (Solar Panel for Essential Cameras Item No. VMC2030-100NAS)

Discussion stats
  • 2 Replies
  • 1 Like
  • 2 In Conversation
Gren86
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hi I'm new to the Arlo community :D. Hope you guys are doing fine. Anywhooo...So we have an Arlo Floodlight cam in front of our house hooked to a 25 ft mag charger and later decided to add an outdoor Essential 1080p camera for our backyard and figured I'd need a solar charging panel to go along with it to take advantage of LA's "sunny-ness." The camera came out of the box with 50-some% charge, installed it along with the compatible solar panel charger but sun was already very low on the horizon when I finished. The following day the solar power kicked in and started charging the camera until it charged up to 100% another day later.  So like I said it charged up to 100% and the solar panel stopped charging around just before noon so I was like okay good it's a "smart charger" like it stops charging when camera reaches 100%. A few days later battery started draining and until down to around 86% TODAY literally just before I signed up on here and I thought hmmm it's super sunny but the charger wasn't doing anything. Again I'm like good but let me go to the Arlo forum to research but couldn't find anything about what the battery low TRESHOLD is for the solar panel to start charging again. I then went to the app and restarted both Pro 3 Floodlight and the Essential camera and lo and behold the solar panel started charging the latter and now it's up to 88%. I don't remember coming across any user guide either about how exactly the solar panel functions specifically like how charging is triggered.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ktjgtdr4rfekmu4/Photo%20Sep%2028%202022%2C%2012%2009%2056%20AM.jpg?dl=0