Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Motion Detection icon is grayed out over night - Arlo Essential XL Spotlight Camera VMC2032

Reply
Discussion stats
  • 28 Replies
  • 6079 Views
  • 1 Like
  • 6 In Conversation
Stone-gate
Tutor
Tutor

The Motion Detection icon is always grayed out over night.  I have to turn the device off and then on to return the Motion Detection icon to normal color - dark.  It happens every night.  Any suggestions?   Thank you. 

28 REPLIES 28
ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Do you have a custom mode set for this camera? 

Stone-gate
Tutor
Tutor

No custom mode set for the camera.

 

Thanks.

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Are you receiving alerts/recordings at night when motion is detected? Is it greyed out at night on the web portal via pc as well? 

Stone-gate
Tutor
Tutor

Yes, I did receive recordings at night when motion was detected.  It is greyed out at night on the web portal via PC too.

 

Thank you.

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Have you tried to remove and re-add the camera? 

Stone-gate
Tutor
Tutor

No, I did that to no avail.

 

Thanks.

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Are you still experiencing this issue? 

Stone-gate
Tutor
Tutor

Yes, and I have to turn the device off and on again each morning to get the Motion Detection icon back to dark.  

dotchief
Aspirant
Aspirant

I have the same issue with this camera.  The issue just started about a week ago.  This issue is occurring on both Essential cameras.

 

The motion icon goes grey about 2 am in the morning.  It's got me stumped.  The two cameras have been operating for two years now - flawlessly.

 

Thanks

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Are we still experiencing this issue with the latest App updates? 

 

Thanks 

Stone-gate
Tutor
Tutor

Yes, sir.  I updated the App on my phone, but the problem is till unsolved.

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Thanks for the update!

dotchief
Aspirant
Aspirant

Shayne,

I've done some testing on this issue.  The tests indicate the following.

1)  The motion icon never turns gray during the day which consumes over 20 hours with no issue.

2)  The icon turns gray between 2:45 a.m. and 5 a.m. CST

3)  I connected the cameras via the 5G connection from the Verizon tower nearby rather than my Wi-Fi connection.

      The result was the same - gray icon during the previously stated times.

4)  These two cameras have operated flawlessly since they were installed on my second home - 420 miles away.

It's my opinion that the last firmware update caused this issue.  As stated previously, they operated without issue until the firmware update.

 

Best Regards,

DotChief

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Is this occurring with the latest version of the Arlo app 4.0.3? 

dotchief
Aspirant
Aspirant

Shane,

 

Thanks for keeping on top of this issue.  To your question, Yes, I believe it is directly related to the new upgraded app that I installed in October 2022.  I did some testing under various parameters.

1.  I set all three cameras to activate the motion sensor at 9:30 pm each night for three days.

2. I set my alarm to awaken me at 3 a.m. each morning to observe the motion detection icon on the cameras.

3.  I switched out a camera and replaced with a new purchase in January 2023.

 

Here's my results.

 

1.  All cameras indicated the motion sensor to be activated at 9:30 p.m.

2.  At 3 a.m. each morning, the motion sensors were still activated.

3.  At 5:30 a.m. each day, the motion sensors indicated they were not activated on the app.  However, when I checked the mode feature, each camera indicated the motion sensors were activated.

4.  Changing the camera out hade not affect on the outcome.  The motion sensor on the app indicated the cameras were not activated.

5.  I left the cameras remain inactive (gray) for each day.  The cameras still maintained their "active status" in the mode setting.

6.  When the app indicated the cameras were inactive, I logged into my account on the computer.  Viola!  The motion sensors were active on the computer.  However, they indicated inactive on the app.20230104_111426.jpg

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Are you able to take a screenshot from your phone with them greyed out in the app? It should be a two button combo, or hand swipe depending on the device you have.

dotchief
Aspirant
Aspirant

Shayne,

 

Here are two photos that were taken within minutes of your request.  Clearly, the app indicates the icons "grayed" on two cameras and the Mode Indicates the cameras are "armed."

 

FWIW - I never had this issue until the new updated "house" version of Arlo was updated.  One last very noteworthy item is:  I don't think people are paying attention to the app until they are notified of a motion alert.  I have had several notification alerts from all the cameras that were "grayed."  However, images were recorded and saved.  It is my opinion that the app has the bug.12666.jpeg12667.jpeg

dotchief
Aspirant
Aspirant

Shayne,

 

Here's a computer look at the same cameras.  However, my home camera is disarmed.  The other cameras, Cabin and Cabin 2 are armed and the icon is dark.

 

Definitely the app.Computer Arlo.jpg

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

@dotchief

 

I have Jeff from my l3 team that would like to reach out to you via phone today if you like? Can you PM me with the best contact number and I can schedule this for you.

thecarmine
Aspirant
Aspirant

Same issue here on Spotlight Essential. Latest firmware. Updated app.

Motion turned off during the night (where I need it most).

Need to turn off-on to restart.

Can you help fix this ASAP?

thx

 

dotchief
Aspirant
Aspirant

To the carmine.

 

Check the Mode Icon.  I'm betting the cameras indicate "armed."

 

Conduct a test like I did.  Leave the icon "grayed" and walk past a camera.  It'll record.

 

I stop worrying about it because the cameras are activated.

 

The Chief

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

@dotchief

 

Are you still experiencing the issue? 

dotchief
Aspirant
Aspirant

Absolutely. Never had an issue with this until the app was updated.

 

I've learned to live with it.

Stone-gate
Tutor
Tutor

Yes, the problem persists.....