Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 17 Replies
  • 13 Likes
  • 7 In Conversation
HendX
Tutor
Tutor

I've been using Arlo Baby successfully with HomeKit for the past 6 months.

It has been quite reliable, but about 3 weeks ago (before the recent firmware update came out), I've started experiencing random disconnects from HomeKit.

Specifically:

1. Launch the Home app on my iPad
  2. Open the camera feed
  3. Feed is on and working fine
  4. After a few minutes, says "Feed is unavailable" (or words to that effect)
  5. Remaining in the Home app, I close and reopen the feed and it immediately works again.

Previously, I could keep the feed open for hours at a time with no issues.

I've tried to diagnose it as follows:

• Trying with a different device instead of iPad
  • Trying to move Arlo Baby nearer to the Wifi hotspot
  • Tried with alternative HomeKit apps to see if they're more resilient
  • Factory reset the Arlo, then re-added to HomeKit. Seemed to be more reliable for a day or two then resumed the issue.

Note that my Arlo is connected via the 5GHz access point (so I don't believe it's related to interference on 2.4GHz network).

17 REPLIES 17
HendX
Tutor
Tutor
One other note:

I ran the feed on the Arlo app on one device, and via HomeKit on another device.

When the Home app says “device not responding”, the Arlo app continues to work fine.

(The problem is though that there’s a 4-5 second delay on the Arlo app, so I prefer not to use it)
Nataleah1
Initiate
Initiate